Share This Forum!  
 
        

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2015, 11:21 PM   #1
rookie77
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 45
Out or safe?

Man on first, ball hit to OF...man on first run to 2 base. pitch runs to make a play 5 feet from 2 base blocking the baseline. Man collides w pitcher without the ball getting to him. Pitch complains and said runner should be out. Is runner out? Where was he to go?
rookie77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 11:24 PM   #2
Boomer1
Seasoned Vet
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 342
I would say the pitcher interfered with the base path therefore runner should be safe because the pitch obstructed the base path without the ball it wasn't like he was attempting to make a tag
Boomer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 11:27 PM   #3
rookie77
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 45
Ok. That was the call. It's self umped beer league game.
rookie77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 12:07 AM   #4
thesonsofpitches
Heavy Hitter
 
thesonsofpitches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Beach, ON
Posts: 966
yes that was obstruction and the runner would be safe.
__________________
Murderers' Row SloPitch Club #4


26oz EL OG Freak Black
thesonsofpitches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 07:16 PM   #5
Hurk
Favourite Food
 
Hurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Strathroy, ON
Posts: 1,705
If the pitcher had a play on the ball, the runner would be out for interference. If the pitch had no play, the runner would be safe.

This is just from reading other similar plays being questioned - and I still might be wrong.
__________________
Code:
Lefty.
Hurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 07:18 PM   #6
rookie77
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Red Deer, AB
Posts: 45
If the pitch had a play...ball not yet reach pitch...where would the runner go so he would not be out? Around the pitch?
rookie77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 07:31 PM   #7
GameChangers
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 18
Interference on runner. Pitcher had play on ball and was not allowed to make that play. Batter is out runner returns to first.
__________________
My arsenal:
LS Z2000 26oz Balanced
LS Z4000 26 oz Balanced
Easton Synergy Flex reissue 26oz
Combat Assault G3 26oz
Worth 454 Legit 27oz
Easton OG Synergy Flex 26oz (deceased, RIP) Looking for another.
GameChangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 07:41 PM   #8
GameChangers
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 18
Should also note that if the umpire decides the interference broke up a double play (which it sounds like it would if there was less than 2 outs) then the runner closest to home would be out as well.
__________________
My arsenal:
LS Z2000 26oz Balanced
LS Z4000 26 oz Balanced
Easton Synergy Flex reissue 26oz
Combat Assault G3 26oz
Worth 454 Legit 27oz
Easton OG Synergy Flex 26oz (deceased, RIP) Looking for another.
GameChangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 08:39 PM   #9
JP21
Heavy Hitter
 
JP21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Newmarket
Posts: 912
Originally Posted by GameChangers View Post
Interference on runner. Pitcher had play on ball and was not allowed to make that play. Batter is out runner returns to first.
Pitch never had the ball so he wouldn't of had a play imo..If the ball beat the collision or it was a tie you could argue pitch had a play..if the runner collide before the ball reached the pitcher would it not be runner interference...it's like a guy blocking the bass paths waitng for a cut off throw.. Technically he'd have a play if the ball got there in time.....lol
__________________
"I never questioned the integrity of an umpire. Their eyesight, yes."-Leo Durocher
JP21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 08:44 PM   #10
GameChangers
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 18
Defense doesn't have to have the ball for there to be interference. The runner is expected to give way to fielder making a play on a batted ball.
__________________
My arsenal:
LS Z2000 26oz Balanced
LS Z4000 26 oz Balanced
Easton Synergy Flex reissue 26oz
Combat Assault G3 26oz
Worth 454 Legit 27oz
Easton OG Synergy Flex 26oz (deceased, RIP) Looking for another.
GameChangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 09:15 PM   #11
hoops00
Post Ore
 
hoops00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,450
My first question is what has caused the pitcher to be 5 feet from 2nd, what exact position was he in when the collision was made and where was the ball. These questions become important for the following reasons. If the pitcher is 5 feet off the bag he is not in a usual "proper position" he needs to be in for it not to be obstruction. Though there are exceptions. What position he is in meaning is he about to catch the thrown ball and in a position to put a tag on the runner if so. Lastly if the ball isnt just about to arrive then he doesnt need to be in position.

For this to be interference on the runner the following 3 things needed to happen. First the fielder must be in "proper position" which most umpires immediatly would say if he wasnt at 2nd waiting for the ball he wasnt in position. Id say it is possible to be off the bag if the fielder could easily see the ball is off target and the fielder got in a position to catch the offline throw. Next is he in a defensive position ready to catch the thrown ball. Lastly is the ball about to be caught and the fielder with a chance at a tag for an out. If all 3 of these are true then it is possible for runner interference.

From my experience runner interference is highly unlikely in this case. It is unlikely the pitcher recognized there was an offline throw at 2nd, got from his pitching position to receive the throw and make himself stationary and then have the collision happen within a sevond or 2 of receiving the ball. Yes possible but without seeing the actual play id say its more likely it was obstruction.
__________________
In The Bag:
27oz Bal Z1000
27oz Bal Z2000
hoops00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 09:22 PM   #12
GameChangers
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 18
I just re-read the OP. I thought the pitcher was making a play on the batted ball. Sounds like he was getting into position to make a play from a thrown ball from OF. In this case, it's LIVE BALL obstuction. Umpire would put his arm out to his side and call obstuction but ball is still live. The runner has free passage to second base but anything after that he is in jeopardy.
__________________
My arsenal:
LS Z2000 26oz Balanced
LS Z4000 26 oz Balanced
Easton Synergy Flex reissue 26oz
Combat Assault G3 26oz
Worth 454 Legit 27oz
Easton OG Synergy Flex 26oz (deceased, RIP) Looking for another.
GameChangers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Merry Christmas and a Safe Holiday Season! bjh1997 Off Topic Banter 9 12-24-2014 11:31 PM
Travel Safely and stay safe Arch Rival Off Topic Banter 63 12-12-2014 07:58 PM
Hope you all have a safe long weekend. IceTech Off Topic Banter 6 09-03-2010 01:48 PM
What's safe to swing? Dave.C Softball Discussion 25 11-04-2009 08:53 AM
Be safe, Junior! A.M. Off Topic Banter 4 10-26-2005 02:16 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.