Share This Forum!  
 
        

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2014, 08:37 AM   #13
hoops00
Post Ore
 
hoops00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,450
yep going to have to side with the SAFE call as well. The rule of the defensive player needing to be given a chance to make a play on the ball refers to a batted ball. Once it touches the pitcher there can be incidental contact. So unless ruled intentional I too would have called the runners safe.
__________________
In The Bag:
27oz Bal Z1000
27oz Bal Z2000
hoops00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 12:57 PM   #14
evilaudi
Seasoned Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 426
Sec. 5 A BASERUNNER IS OUT under the following circumstances:

C. If he is struck by a fair batted ball on fair ground WHILE OFF HIS BASE and before it passes a fielder, excluding the pitcher, unless of course, in the umpire’s judgement, no infielder is in position to field the ball.



As stated above by Rusty, the pitcher is excluded when judging if the ball can be played with reasonable effort. So in both cases, if the fielder had a chance(shortstop, second, etc) and it hit the runner, the runner would be out.

Of course, there is no mention about if the pitcher tips the ball, so it is one of those grey area rules. But, in any case, the rule is there to prevent a runner from interfering with a fielder making a play. In this case, the fielders still have a chance and the runner should not be able to affect that. Runner would be out in my mind
evilaudi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 01:07 PM   #15
thesonsofpitches
Heavy Hitter
 
thesonsofpitches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Beach, ON
Posts: 966
The essence of the "excluding the pitcher" would be if you were a runner that gets hit between first and second (for example) where the pitcher doesn't have a play.
The rule is trying to illustrate that a runner on the baseline would usually be in front of the fielder "except the pitcher". If the pitcher makes a defensive move for the ball and redirects it into the runner, the ball has been played defensively and there is no longer interference by the runner...unless there is intentional and obvious attempt by the runner to make contact with the ball.
__________________
Murderers' Row SloPitch Club #4


26oz EL OG Freak Black
thesonsofpitches is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LTS: NEW LOUISVILLE- SLUGGER SERIES 12" Right Handed Leather Ball Glove $35 bpilot Bats - Selling 3 04-26-2013 04:04 PM
Glove Break in Techniques bwhitt Softball Discussion 7 12-01-2012 08:45 AM
No more LV's being produced till spring rcfield13 Combat 16 11-05-2007 10:20 PM
Pop up interference bigroddy Rule Interpretations 7 09-27-2006 04:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.