Share This Forum!  
 
        

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2013, 12:32 AM   #1
DanGer1285
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40
SPN - Ball goes middle, off pitcher's glove into runner

Happened twice in two weeks. Batted ball goes middle, tips off pitcher's glove, hits runner going from 2 to 3. Ump called runner out both times, different umps.

Is this right? I can't believe it is the responsibility of the runner to anticipate the pitcher tipping a ball into him/her.
__________________
In the bag:
27oz VX2
28oz Z2K, Flipper, Spec1, MLC, CL22
DanGer1285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 01:58 AM   #2
morgan69
Seasoned Vet
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 483
if I'm not mistaken once any fielding player touches the ball
and the ball then hits a baserunner the play should continue
as a live ball and no runner should be out
__________________
if you're not dirty, you're not playing the game


in bag :
27 oz combat assault 3
27 oz pyscho
28 oz mizuno craze todd cadenhead
morgan69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 04:14 AM   #3
Whytey77
Seasoned Vet
 
Whytey77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 385
Runners are safe!
__________________
Cornwall Rockies
In my bag
26oz max psycho og
26oz max psycho og
26oz max recoil asa
26oz miken izzy psycho
26oz 2014 catty EL
26oz Miken freak black X2
Whytey77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 06:57 AM   #4
TMAC68
Attn Ore!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 43,792
Originally Posted by morgan69 View Post
if I'm not mistaken once any fielding player touches the ball
and the ball then hits a baserunner the play should continue
as a live ball and no runner should be out
Originally Posted by Whytey77 View Post
Runners are safe!
correct!!!!
__________________
The only stop you need for clothing

Sales@integritysportswear.ca
https://www.facebook.com/IntegritySportswear/
TMAC68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 07:36 AM   #5
absolutX
SFO Superstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tdot
Posts: 1,270
Originally Posted by TMAC68 View Post
correct!!!!
unless the runner purposely interferes with the ball even after the tip....then runner is out
__________________
"The reason bad things happen to you is because you're a dumbass" - Red Forman

Insert Accomplishments here.
absolutX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 07:38 AM   #6
TMAC68
Attn Ore!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stoney Creek
Posts: 43,792
Originally Posted by absolutX View Post
unless the runner purposely interferes with the ball even after the tip....then runner is out
as per any play...u are also correct...
__________________
The only stop you need for clothing

Sales@integritysportswear.ca
https://www.facebook.com/IntegritySportswear/
TMAC68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:09 AM   #7
NT23
Rice Tool 23
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Milton, Ontario
Posts: 3,108
Defensive player does not have to touch the ball. If a defensive player has a "reasonable effort" opportunity to play the ball and it hits the runner first, then the runner is out is off the base. As for the pitcher, if the touch it (redirect) on the way through, then the runner is not out. However the words of the rule as written, are a tad confusing.
I realized after rereading that my wording was confusing. LOL

Take care
__________________
10th Annual Aidan Teague/Mac Kids Charity Classic
June 12, 13 and 14 2015. Milton, Ontario.
One weekend can make a difference.
www.aidanteague.com

www.ricetool.com

Last edited by NT23; 05-24-2013 at 11:28 AM.
NT23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:31 AM   #8
trammell60
Seasoned Vet
 
trammell60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 626
We had this happen to us in super series a couple years back off the pitchers glove hit the guy on second foot on the way to 3rd umpire called him out his explanation was he felt the SS would have had a play on the ball (total BS and cost us the game ) when we questioned the play after the game they said we would have has to protest the play right at that moment and its the umpires discretion if he feels the SS could have made the play so we would have lost the protest
__________________
In my bag

Miken Freak Black 27oz


For A Joke Men's D SPN Provincial Champs 2011
For A Joke Men's C SPO Super Series Champs 2015
For A Joke Men's C SPO Provincial Champs 2015
trammell60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:16 AM   #9
evilaudi
Seasoned Vet
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 426
this is a rule I see called wrong so many times.

In SPN, as Nolti said, it states that if a player has a resonable chance to play the ball.

I have seen runners called out after being hit with the ball when there was clearly no chance of the shortstop or any other infielder getting to it.

In this case, the pitcher had a chance to make a play so I would say runner is safe.
evilaudi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:58 AM   #10
Rusty Shackleford
D*CK ROD!!
 
Rusty Shackleford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bradford, ON
Posts: 2,140
Sec. 5 A BASERUNNER IS OUT under the following circumstances:

C. If he is struck by a fair batted ball on fair ground WHILE OFF HIS BASE and before it passes a fielder, excluding the pitcher, unless of course, in the umpire’s judgement, no infielder is in position to field the ball.
Rusty Shackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 11:10 AM   #11
Legend 94
Post Ore
 
Legend 94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,561
I believe the pitcher is excluded unless he makes contact with the ball... IF the ball is redirected it should not be the runner that's penalized...
__________________
HOMER LOVERS 94 Master's 40+ USA 50+
HEWCOR BANDITS 94 Seniors 55
DNM RAMPOWER 94 Mequite/Utah


Legend 94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 06:24 PM   #12
thesonsofpitches
Heavy Hitter
 
thesonsofpitches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Beach, ON
Posts: 966
Originally Posted by Legend 94 View Post
I believe the pitcher is excluded unless he makes contact with the ball... IF the ball is redirected it should not be the runner that's penalized...
As I read it, you are correct. Runner should be safe.
__________________
Murderers' Row SloPitch Club #4


26oz EL OG Freak Black
thesonsofpitches is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LTS: NEW LOUISVILLE- SLUGGER SERIES 12" Right Handed Leather Ball Glove $35 bpilot Bats - Selling 3 04-26-2013 04:04 PM
Glove Break in Techniques bwhitt Softball Discussion 7 12-01-2012 08:45 AM
No more LV's being produced till spring rcfield13 Combat 16 11-05-2007 10:20 PM
Pop up interference bigroddy Rule Interpretations 7 09-27-2006 04:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.