Softball Discussion Everything to do with softball





Share This Forum!  
 
        

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2014, 07:47 AM   #1
8InningCloser
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Elmvale, ON
Posts: 58
Play in question

Looking for some feedback here. We were playing a coed league game last night and we ran into a bit of a confusing play at the end. Our league is a SPO league. So SPO rules apply here. Here's the situation:

Bottom of the 7th inning we have our last at bat. We are down 7-6. There is 1 out with runners on 3rd and 2nd. The batter hits a deep fly ball to right centre field and the ball gets caught. The runner on 3rd tags up and scores thus tying the game. The runner also tags up from 2nd base and comes into 3rd base. The ball is thrown into the 3rd baseman. It was not a close play by any means as te runner had plenty of time. The pitcher questions whether she left 2nd base early and then has the 3rd baseman throw the ball over to 2nd base. The ump calls the runner at 3rd out saying she left too early. Game is over. We have a tie game. Here's where it gets confusing.... About 5 minutes after and just as we are getting ready to shake hands, the other team captain speaks to the umpire about the play. The umpire then retracts the run that scored at home. This resulting in us losing. What's the call here? He said because it was a force play and the run doesn't count.
8InningCloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 07:56 AM   #2
trammell60
Seasoned Vet
 
trammell60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: london
Posts: 627
The runner tagging from 3rd counts should have been a tie game it's not a force play it's an appeal play we ran intro this exact same situation in NSA worlds a couple years ago
__________________
In my bag

Miken Freak Black 27oz


For A Joke Men's D SPN Provincial Champs 2011
For A Joke Men's C SPO Super Series Champs 2015
For A Joke Men's C SPO Provincial Champs 2015
trammell60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 08:59 AM   #3
G-ring74
Rookie
 
G-ring74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 168
I would say the umpire has it correct. It is an appeal play but you can't exactly disregard that it is a force play.
__________________
In the bag:
27 Z2K Balanced
27 Combat Assault 3
27 Easton B1
26 Easton Salvo100
G-ring74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:09 AM   #4
hoops00
Post Ore
 
hoops00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,450
Originally Posted by G-ring74 View Post
I would say the umpire has it correct. It is an appeal play but you can't exactly disregard that it is a force play.
In this case the umpire clearly was not sure what the correct call should be. For a lot of umpires it is one of those rules where an arguement could be made for both sides why the run should or shouldn't count.

Regardless of what the correct call actually is the umpire called the last out of the game and the game was over. His call did not impact whether the game should continue or not as the game ends regardless of his call so the correct thing to do in this case was to tell the team in the field to protest the call which would then be forwarded to the UIC for the league so that the correct ruling could be made. League Umpires are not going to know every single rule and this is one of the ones where they should not be embarassed to say they weren't sure and its best to get a confirmed ruling.
__________________
In The Bag:
27oz Bal Z1000
27oz Bal Z2000
hoops00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:12 AM   #5
Rusty Shackleford
D*CK ROD!!
 
Rusty Shackleford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bradford, ON
Posts: 2,143
Originally Posted by G-ring74 View Post
I would say the umpire has it correct. It is an appeal play but you can't exactly disregard that it is a force play.
It is NOT a force play.

Appeal play, run counts, Ump is a dumbass.
Rusty Shackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:29 AM   #6
8InningCloser
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Elmvale, ON
Posts: 58
Thanks everyone. I am going to proceed with a protest staying that the umpire was correct in the first ruling as saying the run scored.
8InningCloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:35 AM   #7
G-ring74
Rookie
 
G-ring74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 168
Originally Posted by Rusty Shackleford View Post
It is NOT a force play.

Appeal play, run counts, Ump is a dumbass.
OK, let's say runners on first and third 1 out. Guy at third tags but the one at first doesn't. Does the run score then?

Appeal or not, still think the force has to be taken off...

I'm really not sure, just arguing for what seems right in my head.
__________________
In the bag:
27 Z2K Balanced
27 Combat Assault 3
27 Easton B1
26 Easton Salvo100
G-ring74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:36 AM   #8
bobber_1077
BoBBeR
 
bobber_1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In POSHawa...formerly C.Mont and the Jax...
Posts: 22,014
It's obviously not a force play...but (and I may be wrong) I think he ultimately made the right call. I don't think the run should count either.
I do see both sides and could go either way...
__________________
In the Bag:
26oz COMbat Wanted
26oz Miken Freakshow
27oz Miken Freak12
26oz Miken OG Freak
26oz Miken OG Freak+

bobber_1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:38 AM   #9
G-ring74
Rookie
 
G-ring74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 168
Originally Posted by bobber_1077 View Post
It's obviously not a force play...but (and I may be wrong) I think he ultimately made the right call. I don't think the run should count either.
I do see both sides and could go either way...
I guess what makes all the difference is, when does a force play become an appeal play
__________________
In the bag:
27 Z2K Balanced
27 Combat Assault 3
27 Easton B1
26 Easton Salvo100
G-ring74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:45 AM   #10
8InningCloser
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Elmvale, ON
Posts: 58
I am going to make the protest. If it's a loss then it's a loss. I can accept that. We are both 1st and 2nd place teams respectively. I think most other teams would have accepted the tie.

Last edited by 8InningCloser; 07-10-2014 at 10:06 AM.
8InningCloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:53 AM   #11
penguins
Rookie
 
penguins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ayr
Posts: 53
run counts as this is an appeal which occurs after play in the field has ended.
penguins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 09:56 AM   #12
Rusty Shackleford
D*CK ROD!!
 
Rusty Shackleford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bradford, ON
Posts: 2,143
Originally Posted by G-ring74 View Post
OK, let's say runners on first and third 1 out. Guy at third tags but the one at first doesn't. Does the run score then?

Appeal or not, still think the force has to be taken off...

I'm really not sure, just arguing for what seems right in my head.
If the runner on 3rd crosses home plate before the appeal is made, the run counts.

It is impossible to have a force play when the batter has been put out.
Rusty Shackleford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking to play SS miner23 Need a player? Looking for a team? 2 05-04-2014 04:07 PM
Looking to play some tournies. stooges9 Need a player? Looking for a team? 0 04-22-2014 06:09 PM
Positional Question TecGuy8 Softball Discussion 29 08-27-2010 02:21 PM
SPN Qualifier question workhorse Softball Discussion 6 08-26-2010 05:19 PM
Looking To Play June 28/29 PaRkZ Need a player? Looking for a team? 7 06-23-2008 06:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.