Rule Interpretations A spot to help clarify questionable calls, and rule interpretations





Share This Forum!  
 
        

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2019, 09:32 AM   #1
Gokul
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 58
Out or not

Two outs with no runners on base. High fly ball hit to the left field and it looked like the fielder caught the ball, but within a second he dropped the ball. When asked he says he lost the ball on transfer to the throwing arm. What should be the call here?
Gokul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 10:15 AM   #2
bobber_1077
BoBBeR
 
bobber_1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In POSHawa...formerly C.Mont and the Jax...
Posts: 22,109
Originally Posted by Gokul View Post
Two outs with no runners on base. High fly ball hit to the left field and it looked like the fielder caught the ball, but within a second he dropped the ball. When asked he says he lost the ball on transfer to the throwing arm. What should be the call here?
I'd say he dropped the ball.
Hard to tell without seeing it, but with 2 out and no one on, no reason to rush it to the point where he lost the ball on the transfer.
__________________
In the Bag:
26oz COMbat Wanted
26oz Easton Helmer Blue Line
27oz Miken Freak12
26oz Miken OG Freak
26oz Miken OG Freak+

bobber_1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 10:22 AM   #3
JP21
Heavy Hitter
 
JP21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Newmarket
Posts: 985
2 outs and NO runners on base... Definitely lost on the transfer

Dropped ball all day !
__________________
"I never questioned the integrity of an umpire. Their eyesight, yes."-Leo Durocher
JP21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 12:50 PM   #4
Gokul
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 58
We argued that its a dropped ball since there is no need for a transfer. But the original decision was that the batter is out.
SPN rule book says this- To establish the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough so the umpire is convinced he had complete control of the ball and himself and that any release of the ball by him was voluntary and intentional. Dropping the ball while attempting to throw it shall not invalidate the catch.
Gokul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 01:37 PM   #5
kvander
Heavy Hitter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 968
It's a judgement call, to be made by the umpire.
Some people do stupid **** like trying to fling the ball up into their throwing hand after a catch, whether there is a play to be made or it's the 3rd out.
kvander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 10:11 AM   #6
bobber_1077
BoBBeR
 
bobber_1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In POSHawa...formerly C.Mont and the Jax...
Posts: 22,109
Originally Posted by Gokul View Post
We argued that its a dropped ball since there is no need for a transfer. But the original decision was that the batter is out.
SPN rule book says this- To establish the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough so the umpire is convinced he had complete control of the ball and himself and that any release of the ball by him was voluntary and intentional. Dropping the ball while attempting to throw it shall not invalidate the catch.
This is what I would have been arguing too.
__________________
In the Bag:
26oz COMbat Wanted
26oz Easton Helmer Blue Line
27oz Miken Freak12
26oz Miken OG Freak
26oz Miken OG Freak+

bobber_1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.