View Single Post
Old 07-26-2017, 03:22 PM   #9
A-Dawg
Seasoned Vet
 
A-Dawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 447
Tough one but once the ball is by you, you are no longer fielding the ball. The runner has to avoid you if you are fielding but that wasn't the case here. The ball was by you admittedly, then contact happened, albeit quickly. Obstruction, runner awarded second by the letter of the law IMO.
The call that I likely would have made is that there wasn't enough contact to warrant a dead ball and that the runner is out on the throw to 2....but I incorporate street rules whenever possible. He shouldn't have stopped running because you brushed shoulders.
Cheers,
A-Dawg
A-Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote